More springtime happenings

I can’t believe it’s been two weeks since I last updated, time is passing by quickly and I’ve been spending less time in my room and out doing things now that the weather is (finally!) getting better!

Our pilates friend Gokhan had a barbecue last weekend and it was a nice treat to sit in a garden and have people cook food for me! He lives in the northern part of Istanbul where it’s less crowded so apartments can have gardens in the back.

Check out the cute cat in the back.

A couple of days ago the weather was great so Cengiz and I took the scooter out for a spin. We were on the Asian side where it’s less hectic and there are lots of beautiful places to drink tea.

Yes, we’re wearing helmets!

That morning, I went to the market in Besiktas, which I have to say is one of my favorite places in Istanbul and I can’t wait for my mom to come back out because I know it will be one of her favorite things too. It’s full of people and vendors shouting and but never in an annoying, hassling way. There are so many different things to buy there and everything looks so good.

These are a sign of spring for me (I’ve been here for 4 springs!) – these tart little plums which are sold on the streets in little carts, and the Turks love to dump or dip them into salt. I don’t find them enjoyable to eat but I love the little brown paper bags they are sold in and how common it is to eat them here.

That’s a lot of beans

I couldn’t get a good picture of this but there are lots of men walking around carrying these big baskets. I don’t know exactly but I’m guessing they are the shopping cart for people who don’t want to carry the things themselves.

I don’t eat artichokes here or in America but I’m pretty sure they are sold differently here. The market sellers “peel” them and sell them as the white things you see floating. Usually they are cooked with other vegetables piled on it.

Olives and cheese.

Fresh garlic

     

Like I said, you can buy all sorts of things here, I didn’t even begin to take photos of everything.


If you get tired from all of the shopping, you can sit and eat some gozleme, a pancake/tortilla filled with things like ground beef, spinach, cheese, or potato.

One response to “More springtime happenings

Leave a Reply

