Birthday party and cooking

Wednesday was my birthday and everyone around me made me feel very special. Unfortunately I hadn’t been feeling well since the day before so my energy wasn’t as good as it could have been, there was actually a birthday party for me on Friday at work but I wasn’t able to go! Saturday night Cengiz organized a party in Taksim, I don’t have those pictures yet, and on Sunday, Anna’s roommate Sarah organized a nice little dinner for Anna and I (her birthday was June 2nd, and she was also sick!). It was just me, Sarah, Anna, and my two roommates Emrah and Engin.

They all had fish but I’m not a fish fan so Sarah kindly made me some vegetable spaghetti.

I got in a cooking mood (well, I always am in a cooking mood) on Monday and I thought I’d share some things I cooked, maybe for some inspiration. Sarah’s pasta was so delicious so I tried it for myself:

Heat oil, add zucchini and strips of carrot, then some garlic and add to a mixture of wheat and normal pasta. Can be served hot, cold, or room temperature.

I’ve been interested in “food in a bag”. You just throw chicken into a bag, and whatever else you want to cook with it. The chicken comes out really really moist and it’s an easy cleanup! Here I made a tomato sauce (just onions, tomatoes, garlic, salt, and some tomato paste) and put that with the chicken, and on the left are just some potato slices. The chicken turned out well, especially when it was all mixed with pasta.

This was my favorite thing, I have to say. It’s a lemon bundt cake. Anna gave me a bundt cake pan for my birthday and I am thrilled! This turned out pretty well and those around me agreed, if I can say so myself. I got the recipe from All Recipes by John Thompson, but instead of lemon extract I used the juice from 1 lemon.

I was so excited by that cake yesterday I decided to make one more today! This was an apple cinnamon cake.

It’s got real chunks of apple in it. I got this recipe from Martha Stewart, I would just also add nutmeg and cloves and a bit more cinnamon, mine was a bit flavorless. Also I only used 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown (because I ran out of brown).

Anyway, that’s all that’s happening here! The countdown to America: 22 days! I can’t wait!

One response to “Birthday party and cooking

Leave a Reply

