America! Part 1

Sorry for not updating but as you probably know, I was in America! I had so much fun – seeing my family, friends, house, and also getting to see Cengiz see these parts of my life and also get to know a new culture. It wasn’t exactly a relaxing holiday but it was a good one nonetheless!

Our first morning started with a morning row:

Some blueberry picking (and eating):

We also went to the Wachapreague carnival. Cengiz didn’t seem too scared off by the soft crab sandwich, womanless pageant, or overweight and underdressed people.

I don’t know why but one of my favorite things we did was go for an early morning run in town on a rainy, rainy morning. It was nice to see town and it was deserted, and I don’t know if you’ve ever gone for a run in the rain but it’s a lot of fun (but doesn’t lead to flattering pictures).

Hooray for family traditions!

One of the things I was looking forward to the most was hanging out on the back porch with family:

We decided to to go Virginia Beach, not only because we have a beach house there but also Cengiz’s brother and also my roommates worked there for a summer! I had a lot of fun, again, especially doing a morning run on the beach.

Not only am I impressed with my ability to still do a cartwheel, but I’m also impressed that Cengiz got this picture!

Tai Chi on the beach? Why not?

I was really happy my cousin John was also at the beach. He and his brother really impress me with their ability to converse and “talk about grown up things”. I had a great time sitting talking to John and Cengiz was happy he taught him how to boogie board!

We managed to squeeze in a quick boat ride before we left the shore to begin our next adventure.

That’s it for the first part of the vacation! I’ll put up some more photos in a few days. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

