Home!

Even though this is about a month late, I thought I’d share some pictures of my time at home. This was my first Christmas in two years so it was especially great to be home. Last time I was at home I was with Cengiz so it wasn’t very relaxing as I was busy translating from Cengiz English to normal English and visiting different places in the states, but this time it was just me which made it calmer and gave me more quality time with family and even friends! It’s always good to come home and hard to leave. Sometimes I think I’m crazy to live so far from such a good and special family, house, and culture but those of you who have been here can also understand the grab of a city like Istanbul. If you haven’t been here, come and see! But not now, it’s cold and snowy and I’m slightly scared of catching hypothermia in my sleep but hot water bottles work magic.Image

My first day back I went to my school that I attended from Pre-K to 12th grade (!!) and I had the chance to see teachers and staff that I hadn’t seen in a long time, and I got to watch/participate in a very important tradition, the Christmas sing-a-long led by MY DAD!!

Image

Another important tradition in my family is when we go and cut the Christmas tree down from the woods surrounding our house. Sadly our loyal cat Fuzzy died last year so he didn’t join us as he did for so many years. Once the tree is cut and the men drag it back and set it up we decorate it:

Image

Most beautiful tree in the world!

 

Image

Not a very flattering picture, of both me and the gingerbread “house”. My brother’s girlfriend so kindly gave me a make-your-own gingerbread kit, a perfect present as I love Christmas things, especially ones involving cooking and eating, but I didn’t do such a good job with this…It was fun though!

Image

Believe it or not, this is the good side!

Image

My lovely parents

Image

Christmas Eve dinner.

Image

Spanky Claus!!

Image

Christmas morning.

Image

I was finally introduced to the game Kubb which my family played all summer. It’s a great game – look it up if you aren’t familiar with it!

Image

Another family picture of us wearing crowns. Why not?

Image

Phew! Christmas is exhausting!

 

One response to “Home!

Leave a Reply

