Bosphorus

Having the scooter has made getting around so much easier, we can avoid traffic and not worry about parking, and the fun of it makes us get out and about often. We had some beautiful weather a few weeks ago so we went on a few excursions. First here are some tulip pictures:

Image

Image

Image

The day we went it was a holiday and it was PACKED. Everyone was having a picnic. It was sweet but hard to enjoy the nature and scenery with people everywhere.

Image

Another day we went to Bogazici University, where I “studied” abroad, because it’s got nice views and lots of nature.

Image

Image

 

There was a mostly empty parking lot and I finally was brave enough to drive the scooter! It’s pretty fun and addicting.

Image

Image

YUM. A warm waffle with chocolate sauce, fruit, and sprinkles!

Image

Cengiz had a show thing at a gym and I got to go (I can’t tell you how much I look forward to these events, I get bored at my gym and it’s fun to go to new places and see Cengiz teach). As always, he was great (and sweaty).

Image

He’s starting to teach this class called CX Works (all the Turks pronounce it “sex works”, it’s a little awkward) but I highly recommend it if you have it at your gym. Or purchase one of those elastic tube things with handles, look up some exercises on the internet, and do it at home.

Image

Another Saturday we spent in Ortakoy, a part of Istanbul along the Bosphorus, famous for its potatoes loaded with toppings.

Image

Image

I hate how Cengiz stole my sunglasses and they look better on him. It’s like having a sister.

Image

Afternoon sun is the best for pictures.

Image

I’d been hearing about Durumzade in Taksim from my friend Anna because it had been featured on Anthony Bourdain’s show on the Food Network, and I have to say, the durum was pretty awesome. A little hole in the wall, no fuss, inexpensive place – my new go-to place in Taksim!

Image

Those from the shore probably know who I’m talking about when I say the name Matt Lalor – our families have known each other forever and he is my brother’s age so they were playmates when they were younger. I was always the “younger sister” so it was really nice when I got an email from him saying he’d be in Istanbul. I really enjoyed walking around, it’s always nice to see Istanbul through a visitor’s eyes and try to take them places off the beaten track. We went to Rumeli Hisari which is a castle in great condition and you can tromp all around – but not for those scared of heights or who have problems with stairs!

Speaking of visitors, my mom is coming on Thursday!! Expect no posts for a while as we play, and as soon as she leaves I have another house guest for a week or two – fun fun! Have a great one!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

