Things I’ve been up to in Istanbul

I have a random collection of pictures of things I’ve been doing in Istanbul since I got back from America. I’ve also been to America again and to Switzerland, but I’ll save those for other posts.

I think you’ve seen pictures of me eating this before but I can’t help but put another one up:

Image

Mmmmm a potato with lots of stuff on it. It can really hit the spot.

As summer was coming to an end, I had a girls end of the summer potluck. It was fun and delicious!

Image

One day I was in Sultanahmet and I was so thankful I had my camera so I could get this shot:

Image

It’s nice when you have visitors because you remember and visit places in the city that look like this:

Image

Cengiz had one of his quarterly Les Mills shows, I’ll try to control myself and only put up a couple!

Image

Image

Image

Our friend Sem, second from the left, is about 55! I hope I can do that when I am her age.

Image

Image

I didn’t know Cengiz had the skill of reading fortunes. First you drink the Turkish coffee then turn it upside down and wait until it cools and the grounds have fallen out. Then you look inside of the cup and predict the person’s future. I’m not good at it but some people get really into it. Vanessa, the woman above, was really impressed by the accuracy of Cengiz’s reading!

Image

Someone I know from Goucher came out to Istanbul so he stayed with us for about a week. We didn’t have much time to do anything with him but we did go to Tophane which is famous for it’s hookah which can be fun to do on occasion and in small doses. Cengiz read Sam’s coffee cup, and he said it was also pretty accurate!

Image

I tried to throw a surprise party for Cengiz’s birthday a few days ago but it didn’t really work out, but it was still nice to get his closest friends together and eat cake, which tasted pretty good if I can say so myself!

Image

Cengiz’s loot. His friend gave him an Iphone 4s. It’s a little hard to follow that!

Image

One of my students who I’ve had for a long time went to Mexico during a holiday we had last week. I wanted to give her a “promotional lesson” (free) so instead of doing grammar blah blah I went to her house and had breakfast and she told me about her trip. She and her mom were very sweet and hospitable and they prepared a lovely breakfast! It looks good, doesn’t it?

Image

My friend Jaime discovered a cheese that is like ricotta cheese and so she had my friend Anna and I over for dinner and she made lasagne. It was really really good and she managed to pull it off even when the water had been cut!

Image

It was so intense I could hardly finish my piece!

Well that’s what I’ve been up to, in addition to working, exercising, cooking and cleaning. Life is going pretty well! Soon the Istanbul weather will roll around so we’ll see how everyone hangs in there – it will be getting cold, gray, and wet. The next blog post will be about my quick trip to America for my friend’s wedding. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

