Happy New Year!

I hope everyone’s new year has gotten off to a good start. It’s snowing here which is secretly kind of fun but the city really panics and my lessons cancel and I don’t earn money, so I shouldn’t like it so much. Also, the snow gets brown and slushy and water drips from everywhere so it really isn’t a good situation at all, but the little girl inside of me still enjoys it!

I just got back from a great trip to Switzerland and France where I saw my family, but I’ll post about that later. Here are some random photos of things I’ve been doing:

Image

I forgot to write about my Thanksgiving party. It was potluck style, thank goodness, because 17 people showed up and I wouldn’t have been able to have done it alone! But I have to say, I was pretty darn proud of cooking a whole turkey, and it wasn’t dry!

Image

You could hardly fit everything onto a plate!Image

I think the hit for desserts was Anna’s homemade apple pie. It was sooo good but sadly there were no leftovers!

Image

No way I could have done everything without these ladies!

I had to go to Eminonu (part of the old section, where the Spice Bazaar is) to get some things, and it was night when I left so I got these pictures.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Anna had her second annual Swedish craft making party. The gist of it is that you stuff a toilet paper tube with non perishable treats, and wrap it around accordion folded tissue paper which has also been cut, then tie off the ends. There were also snacks and good company!

Image

Image

The final product

Image

Image

Ece, my twelve and a half year old student, was excited about Christmas this year so during one lesson we decorated a gingerbread house that I had bought in Switzerland. I think we did a pretty good job!

Image

Image

Hard at work

Image

We had another snow a few weeks ago. Cengiz had a show and my lessons had been cancelled so I actually was able to go, so I fought the crazy metro crowds, walked through the deep and sometimes slushy snow, to arrive at the gym and find out it had been cancelled (he couldn’t let me know because I was on the metro). Oh well!

 

Image

My friend Dalia invited a bunch of “orphans” over for an early Christmas dinner – ie a bunch of people who couldn’t/didn’t go home for Christmas. There was delicious food and an ancy cat:

Image

A Turkish breakfast:

Image

That’s Sam, Cengiz, and Yeda

Image

On Christmas I didn’t do much, I knew I would see my family soon, but I did make Christmas cookies (which I also ended up doing with Ece).

Image

I really recommend getting the neon food dye – it’s so much fun!

I hope everyone had happy holidays and I look forward to posting about my family trip the next time. Stay happy, healthy, and don’t forget your resolutions!

 

Leave a Reply

