Hello Part 2 (part 1 is located below, I had some photo issues)

ImageI think you all know something was going on in Istanbul – I’m too tired to go into it but I want to share some pictures I took while I walked through there one morning. It was very calm when I went, I never made it when it was filled with people but I bet it was a pretty exciting atmosphere.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

People who couldn’t make it to Taksim to protest would bang pots and blow whistles from their balcony or on their street every night at 9. 

Image

 

My pretty balcony.

Image

The night before my birthday my friend Jaime had some girls over for dinner. I bought (sadly I didn’t have an oven at the time) and brought a cake for Anna, whose birthday is just 6 days before mine, and she made and brought a cake for me! It was delicious!

Image

Image

For my birthday, Cengiz and I ate breakfast at a reallllyyyy good place called Cafe Kale, down on the Bosphorus in Rumeli Hisar. I hadn’t been that miserably full in a long time. The first picture is clotted cream and honey, and the next one is menemen, a sort of scrambled omelet with meat in it, friend hellim cheese, olives, and normal cheese. If you come to Istanbul you need to go there!

Image

One day we went on a picnic with Cengiz’s family. They really know how to picnic here. Cengiz’s brother and sister in law bought a bunch of fresh veggies from the market, and at the site they grilled them all and made a delicious eggplant goopy thing. There was also fresh salad, rolled grape leaves, cake, and a bunch of chicken. Yum! We were on the Asian side of Istanbul, at the very north on the Black Sea at a place called Riva. It was really pretty, and it called for some jumping pictures. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

The standing man protests in Taksim

ImageWhat a guy!

Image

 

I like this picture of us. This is in Buyukcekmece, really far out of Istanbul but with a really long pedestrian street lined with vendors and right on the Marmara Sea. 

The next post will be about my vacation in America and the WEDDING!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

