Trabzon wedding

I really can’t describe the Trabzon wedding, pictures will have to do! Let’s just say it was very different from the American wedding. Not that one was better than the other, but I am glad I had my beautiful and special American wedding! I couldn’t stop laughing during the Trabzon wedding – it was so over the top compared to what we are used to in the states. In addition, I was in an enormous fluffy dress as is the tradition there, and it is as uncomfortable and difficult to walk in as it looks. I also went to the hairdresser and had so much makeup slathered on me (mascara ON my fake eyelashes!?! 4 different products on my lips!!). When Cengiz saw me he exclaimed, “Who are you!?!” Anyway, time for you to see!

Image

A wedding tradition in Turkey is for the car taking the couple to the wedding gets decorated. I had always seen it happening, it was fun to be inside of it! Thank goodness we were able to borrow a big car, I don’t think I would have been able to have fit in a smaller car!

Image

We had a fire-y entrance (thankfully my dress/hair didn’t catch on fire) AND there was entrance music!

Image

So then we have to dance in the middle of everyone in this huge hall. I didn’t think the song would ever end! I kept asking Cengiz, when will this finish!?! BUT there were bubbles AND fake snow!

Image

I can’t even tell you how awkward it was. Don’t forget, this entire thing is being captured on video camera!

Image

Image

The music finally changed to a song where everyone can participate, and while this song also seemed to go on for a long time because you just walk around and snap and try to shimmy your shoulders, it was fun to see who was at the wedding. Big props to the foreigners for getting up and dancing!! Look at my dad go!

Next the traditional Black Sea dance song came on, a 10 step dance that goes around in a circle. My family and I had been practicing for it after our sort of failure to be able to do it at the American wedding. I guess you could say we rocked it. I was in a really difficult situation trying to dance in close proximity to people – the dress (that I rented) got stepped on because it was long and fluffy, so the people next to me ended up just grabbed a layer of fluff and we danced with that in our hands.

Image

About 85% of the photos of me I’m looking down at the person’s feet next to me, trying to stay in time!

Image

I love this picture. Dad is totally in his world, counting. Mom is looking at Cengiz’s feet, Cengiz is able to talk and dance at the same time, Veronica seems pretty on top of things, and Ms Covatta’s face is like good lord what’s happening. You all were great sports!!

Image

Look at all of those people!

Image

I’d be lying if I didn’t say this was a great part of the wedding. You stand, and people come and pin money on you or drop it in a basket. Actually it is a pretty uncomfortable feeling, coming from a culture of writing personalized thank you notes, but it’s just the way it is done here and it’s normal for people. It is nice in that you get to see everyone and kiss/hug/shake hands. I was pretty exhausted by the end of it, so luckily the wedding organizers took us to our little room to rest and get something to drink before heading back out.

Image

A big thanks to the Covatta girls for coming all the way out to Trabzon! It was a blast to have them.

Image

This is the cake, but it’s actually rubber. In the back there’s a little niche cut out with real slices of cake that Cengiz and I fed each other. Of course, there had to be flames when we cut the cake!

Image

Image

And more dancing. No high heels for me!

Image

The best family photo we could get.

Image

It wouldn’t be a good blog entry without a picture of Anna! She and her boyfriend came out, and they spend some extra time on the Black Sea. It was the first time for both of them out there.

Image

This was also a lot of fun. People got in a circle and Cengiz and some guys started doing a crazy Black Sea dance called the Kolbasti, and then they pulled a chair into the middle of the circle and I had to sit in it while Cengiz danced around me. I had no idea what I was supposed to do so I smiled and clapped. The tradition is that I am supposed to get up and do it to, but I had no idea how to do the dance and I was absolutely exhausted.

Image

This picture is hilarious. My view was so uncomfortable and I wanted to rip it out before evening leaving the hairdresser. Every time there was a picture, someone’s arm kept resting on the veil and pulling it down and I couldn’t control my face it hurt so much! In this picture, from left to right, is Cengiz’s aunt, his sister, his mother, and two more sisters.

Image

What a group of guys. On the far left is Cengiz’s brother, and the rest are nephews/cousins.

Image

This is a large chunk of Cengiz’s family, plus a few extra, and missing a few. I’ve definitely married into a large but very kind, warm, and welcoming family.

Just a few days before the wedding Cengiz’s father went into a coma and he died a few days after the wedding – it really was sad he couldn’t be at the wedding. In the next post I will tell you about my time after the wedding and the funeral. While it was a really tough time, there were some positive aspects as well.

Sorry this got so long but as you can see, a lot happened in the 3 hour event!

2 responses to “Trabzon wedding

  • Nancy

    Oh Sally, I have loved reading about your wedding and looking at these fabulous pictures! You were a lovely bride both in Turkey and in Onancock!

  • Claire

    Sally, what a fun wedding in Trabzon! I am so glad you could have both! thanks for sharing those pictures, I am sorry to hear about Cengiz’s father passing….You must have spend more time with his family but not in the same light. Big hugs to both of you

Leave a Reply

