Cat and Italy

I thought I had posted this before (early December) but when I checked, it was still in my drafts! I have a recollection of my computer freezing up and not being sure what had happened with it. Anyway, I am REALLY sorry for the 2 month break. I still need to cover Trabzon and our recent trip to Spain! I hope everyone had a great Christmas and New Year. Here’s the post:

It is a little embarrassing to be posting cute cat pictures after the somewhat poignant post from before, but it’s what came along in life next. You may remember back in February we took care of a cat for a few days and we fell in love with her. She came back! This time for a little over two weeks. While it was a lot of fun to have her, it was also a pain in the butt. I could hardly cook anything because she’d jump up on the counter and eat it, and trying to eat a meal at the table proved to be a challenge. She’d attack my groceries before I’d had time to put them away and get into any food that wasn’t sealed up. We weren’t starving her, I promise. We also had to worry about her claws on our leather sofa, and I’m still finding litter she flicked all over the place. She wanted to play at 4am and would walk on our faces until we woke up. Anytime we opened the front door she wanted to escape and if we wanted to open a window it had to be one with a screen, and even then I didn’t trust her. She puked all over our nice floors, and left hair on everything she touched. Sounds like a nice houseguest, right? We had a lot of fun with her though, and it’s really nice to have a fuzzy animal to snuggle with, but two weeks was definitely long enough. If I were to have a cat, it would have to be a much lazier one!

Image

Getting ready.

Image

Image

When her owner dropped her off we played dress up.

ImageImage

One of my favorite pictures of Cengiz, but I just noticed how big his stomach is there (for Cengiz)! He gained a lot of weight this summer between going to America, not exercising too much in Ramadhan, and then being in Trabzon for almost a month.

Image

Image

Happy to see her owner again

As you can see, she’s pretty darn cute, but I don’t miss the interrupted sleep or putting my foot in the door every time I come home!

Every year in Islam there is a holiday where they sacrifice animals. Not everybody in Turkey does this but it is a national holiday, and this year it landed from Monday to Friday, so we had a nice long holiday! The first half of it I spent in Italy, where my Mom was on a girls’ trip. Heath and Veronica also came over from Switzerland, and it was wonderful to be altogether (minus Dad sadly). I spent 3 days hardly doing anything touristy, but instead eating, walking to the next place to eat, and eating gelato. Everything I ate there was so good. It’s good I only stayed 3 days, otherwise I would have been miserable!

I arrived in Florence and the first morning we went to a market near Ms. Covatta’s apartment.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The Duomo

Mom, Heath, Veronica and I also went to Siena, which I’m really glad we did. I had been there when I was 7 but I didn’t pick up on the charm of it. Mom only stayed for the day, and the next morning Heath, Veronica and I wandered around. Every turn you make is charming and OLD! I highly recommend spending a day in Siena if you go to Italy.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

View from our hotel

Image

Typical street

Image

Image

Another cool thing about Siena is how it was divided up into 17 districts, or contrade (plural) in the Middle Ages. I won’t go into history or explanations of it, but it’s fun to walk around and be like, I’m in the inchworm contrada! Some of the walls have plaques so you know which one you are in.

For being an only 3 day vacation, I felt like I covered a lot of territory and it was great to be with Mom and Heath and Veronica. In December we’ll have a big family vacation in Spain, and this time Dad can come. In the next post I will talk about my trip back to Trabzon.

Thanks for following me everyone!

Leave a Reply

